The European Championship is the most prestigious event of the European Go Congress. Only the best 24 European players can participate. Games can be watched, however, by everybody, and many of the games will be broadcasted.

In 2016, Ilja Shikshin (1p, Russia) won the championship. For the past winners see The Hall of Fame of the European Go Federation.